Skip to content

Wtf?

September 12, 2011

Seriously, wtf:

Cathleen Hachey’s first try as a surrogate mother took a heartbreaking turn when she was abandoned via text message last spring, 27 weeks into the pregnancy she’d initiated to help another couple start a family.

The young New Brunswick stay-at-home mom was carrying twins for a British couple. But three months before Hachey’s due date, the couple declared their marriage had ended and they would not be coming for the babies.

Article here at Parent Central/The Toronto Star.

If someone has written coherently about this somewhere else, I would love to read it.

Here are my disjointed thoughts in no particular order:  WTF?!?!?  So why didn’t the husband step up, since he is technically the father?  Why is it left on the mother to take the babies?  So glad those kids went to someone who would love and care for them.  The stress of AIL brings out both the best and worst of people.  I hope neither parent can look themselves in the mirror now.  $10 says the father is married to another woman and shooting out kids within two years.  While we were TTC, I did ponder if our marriage would fall apart due to the stress, but I never for a minute thought I or Milk would abandon any children we created/adopted.   How could they just walk away?!?!?

I guess we shouldn’t be too surprised that people who would be willing to break the law in one instance (age of surrogate) wouldn’t hesitate to break promises or hearts.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2011 8:10 am

    I read that too, with the same WTF? It seems to me that if that solution is supposed to be perfectly logical, what if adoptive parents turn out to be unfit, should the state give the kids back to the birth mom and say ‘you handle this?’ There has been so much WTF in the news lately, it just makes me angry. I am glad the surrogate in this case really seems to be a decent human being, not turned completely angry and bitter by this experience.

  2. September 13, 2011 8:20 am

    My reaction when I read about this was also WTF? If this solution is supposed to be logical and just, what’s next? If adoptive parents turn out to be unfit, should the state just throw the kid back at the birth mom and say ‘you handle this?’ Like so many of these issues, there are so many more ramifications than those for just this one situation. I think I may write about it now myself, when I hadn’t planned to.

  3. eggsinarow permalink
    September 13, 2011 12:06 pm

    Wait, are the twins still available? I’ll take them! (Do you see how crazy I am?) But seriously, this is heartbreaking. What is wrong with people? I can’t even imagine the thought process they had.

  4. September 13, 2011 5:14 pm

    What. The. Frak?!?!? Unbelievable. Seriously. I think I just threw up a little in my mouth.

Leave a Reply

