Skip to content

It’s Always Something

September 20, 2011

I mentioned to my midwife that I had some itching in my hands and feet.

Me = Charlie Brown. Life = Lucy Van Pelt

A couple years ago, I had some liver issues, and itchy extremities like this could be a sign of cholestasis.  It can also just be a sign of itchy pregnancy skin.  With my history, she recommended I get some blood work done to make sure that it was just regular pregnancy related shit and not anything serious. Cholestasis usually shows up in the third trimester, so I’m a bit early for it, though if my liver was already struggling, there is a possibility of it.

I got two tests done through my family doctor (with the stipulation that if those came back abnormal, I would have to see a high-risk OB).  The first part of the tests came back normal, and I danced a happy dance of joy.  I just got a call back from my doc’s receptionist, about the second part of the test.  I’m not sure what the results are, but I’ve been told that my family doctor is going to recommend I see a high risk OB.  Which means the test results came back abnormal.  I’m waiting to hear back from my midwife.  I hope she calls this afternoon.

Cholestasis just sounds like a grand ol’ time:

ICP poses several risks that are of great concern. ICP is associated with an increased risk for infant stillbirth (intrauterine death of baby), premature labor, fetal distress, and hemorrhaging in both mother and child. – ItchyMoms.com

Pardon me while I go puke in the corner.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 12:05 pm

    I read the first line and thought, ‘oh no.’ I hope they’re just being overly cautious with you!!

    • September 20, 2011 5:49 pm

      That’s my hope, too. My family doctor is fresh out of med school and is very thorough and does things by the book. He doesn’t hesitate to check up on even the smallest lead, so I’m hoping this is a case of him just being keen.

  2. September 20, 2011 12:15 pm

    😦 Oh no!
    hang in there hon, thinking of you and sending you huge virtual hugs. Please keep us posted!

    • September 20, 2011 5:50 pm

      =) Thanks, Mo. Since it’s now after office hours, I’m assuming I’m not hearing back from the midwife today. Hopefully tomorrow I will have some news.

Leave a Reply

